Texas State University Logo
Banner Image
Evans Liberal Arts, Room 139
Phone: 512.245.2170
Fax: 512.245.8353
Email: geography@txstate.edu

Undergraduate Resources

Graduate Resources

Support Texas State Geography

Internships & Jobs

University Resources

Join the Conversation

adjust type sizemake font smallermake font largerreset font size

Welcome to the Department of Geography

Texas State University is located in San Marcos, TX between Austin and San Antonio. The university provides an outstanding place to study both the physical and cultural elements of geography in one of the nation’s fastest growing regions. The opportunities and challenges associated with this rapid population growth provide real-world examples for geography students interested in studying the cultural-human aspects of urban and regional land-use planning, as well as the environmental issues associated with growth and development. We have state-of-the-art facilities to provide students with geographic information technology skills including GIS (geographic information systems), GPS (global positioning system), water resources, and remote sensing.

We invite you to explore our website for details about our major concentrations, student organizations and activities and geography careers.

Upcoming Events

 alumni reunion logo Mark your calendars for our 20th Annual Alumni Reunion and Student Celebration,
  Saturday, April 26, 2014. We look forward to seeing you at Wild Acres and Heirloom Blooms
  in Wimberley, Texas.

  Please see the available lodging specials for this historic event.


Sign up today for the many field trips being offered. Click here to register.

Departmental News

ron hagelman  Dr Ron Hagelman, current Regional Councilor for SWAAG, elected to Chair of the
  AAG Regional Division Councilors.



Summer 2014 and Fall 2014 registration access periods are fast approaching. Plan ahead and see your academic advisor today.